Purpose Driven or Spirit Led?

My men’s group has been studying The Purpose-Driven Church by Rick Warren. We have had lively discussions throughout and it has really challenged our conservative Baptist ways of looking at the church. The christian life is one of balance. I find that whenever I think I fully understand a subject, the warning flags go up, since usually my simple understanding is not complete. One of the key issues in the christian life of a person or the church, is focus. Recognizing what our purpose is and focussing on what’s important, has tremendous value.
 
On the other hand, much of the christian life is following the leadership of the Holy Spirit. God seldom leds me see what He is going to do beyond today, so that I will obey Him now and trust that He will do what is best. I am a very organized person who likes to plan out the future. For the past year, I have been evaluating my life regularly based on my responsiveness to the Holy Spirit. The primary question that I have used is "How many times this week did I change my plans at the prompting of the Holy Spirit?". For me, at least, this provides an effective measure of where my walk is this week.

About dannywahlquist

I'm Danny Wahlquist and my interests include: bacnet,baptist,blog,christian,church,danny,development,docbook,genealogy,immanuel,Jesus,localization,niagara,pictures,tridium,and web. My genealogy research includes Borum,Brewer,Brown,Calhoun,Eads,Garnett,Graham,Kelly,Lawson,Melton,Nelson,Reisner,Sanderson,Shelton,Wahlquist.
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

